Baaaack

Sorry about the blog break. Gweneth and I planned to spend a week in the US – her to visit her folks in Philadelphia, and me to attend the American Economic Association meetings. But the day after we landed, I came down with a bad case of salmonella poisoning, and spent four days in hospital. We flew back today.

The hospital stint was, I think I can safely say, the four most boring and painful days of my life. Not to mention expensive. The bill isn’t in yet, but I think the stay will end up costing ANU’s travel insurer somewhere well over $10k (for anyone travelling personally, a health insurance-only policy like this is definitely worth buying).

I did find one thing interesting. When they were trying to work out whether to give me morphine-type painkillers, some nurses asked for my pain on a 0-10 scale, where 10 was the worst pain imaginable. Others put 10 as the worst pain you’ve ever experienced. Having not gone through childbirth or a colonoscopy, I could quite readily rate myself a 10 on the second scale, but not on the first scale. Which made me wonder, what’s the right pain scale to use?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baaaack

  1. Second the necessity of health insurance when travelling to the US, I broke my leg in Cincinnati, thankfully I was insured. I had to fight with the insurance company as they didn’t want to pay it.

Comments are closed.