Pro War Blogger Opposes Torture

Belatedly responding to John Quiggin’s call, I’d be happy to be counted among the ranks of pro-war bloggers opposed the use of torture. I’d regard myself as what the yanks call a "liberal hawk". So far as I’ve been able to discern, there are currently 3 Australians in this category – Michael Costello, Macgregor Duncan and myself. But if others wish out to "out" themselves, we’d be delighted to hear from you.

This entry was posted in Iraq. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pro War Blogger Opposes Torture

  1. avocadia says:

    I was then, but waver a bit these days.

  2. Mork says:

    I used to be, too, but when all the assumptions on which my pro-war position was based turned out to be false, I had no choice but to modify my views.

    Frankly, I now struggle to understand how I was so naive.

  3. Don says:

    A liberal hawk? What do you mean?

    Pro-war in general? Pro some war in particular (on Iraq, on terror, on North Korea, on France)?, pro war under certain circumstances?

  4. Andrew Leigh says:

    Don, I was tempted to say “pro-war in general”, but resisted the urge. That said, I think being pro-war in general is at least as defensible a position as being anti-war. (Do these people with “No War” bumper stickers on their cars really mean that they wouldn’t have fought WWII?)

    What I meant was that I share the view of Tony Blair, Bill Clinton and Jose Ramos Horta, among others, that military intervention to remove Saddam was a good thing. For an interesting (though now slightly dated) discussion by and about liberal hawks, see http://fray.slate.msn.com/id/2093620/entry/2093763/

  5. mr.lynch says:

    what do you think the advantages and disadvantages are of warfare? Just curious?

Comments are closed.