Bringing Home the Bacon

I have a paper out on pork-barrelling during the 2001-04 election cycle, in which I find that, holding constant relevant demographics (land area for road programs, income for social programs), a number of Coalition programs might be characterised as "pork-barrelling". The Age has written the paper up today, with a quote from the minister’s spokesperson saying, in effect, that I should have controlled for land area. Um, I did.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bringing Home the Bacon

  1. Sacha Blumen says:

    Why not write to the Prime Minister and ask for his considered response? No doubt your paper will be “carefully” considered.

  2. Then you should have controlled for it again Andrew. In some way that would have produced more sound results. You’d never get a job in the AWB or anywhere else in the bureaucracy for that matter with your brazen attitude to inconvenient facts.

  3. Bring Back EP at LP says:

    I think of a funny remark and find not for the first time Nicholas has beaten me and said much better.

    I think the response is a political response in that cast doubt on the result for spurious reasons and hope only anti-government types believe it.

Comments are closed.