Blackballed

An interesting thing seems to have happened this week. I’ve discovered that comments I post on other Australian blogs – Club Troppo, John Quiggin, Joshua Gans, Road to Surfdom – are immediately eaten by the spam filter. My guess is that all these sites are using the same spam filter (Akismet, perhaps), and that because a comment-spammer has been using my details, I’ve been placed on the blacklist. Of course, I could start posting under a different name, but this seems rather unnecessary. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to resolve it?

On the upside, it has been good for my productivity.

Update, 29/8: I wrote to Akismet, who removed me from the blacklist.

This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blackballed

  1. Steve Edney says:

    I’ve noticed that at some sites (notably catallaxy) I get considered spam if I have my site’s URL listed.

    Have you tried removing that? It seems that spam filters don’t care as much if you are not putting out a link.

  2. Joshua Gans says:

    Just let me know and I will be happy to mark them as ‘not spam.’

  3. Well as I emailed you Andrew, I don’t think it was the economic commentary. I think it was those asides to the effect that the entire Troppo community could do with a penis elargement. Probably a spot on as a comment (except for our female readers I guess) but a bit of a red rag to the spam checker I’m afraid.

    Still what is the chance of this comment making it through?

  4. On a (slightly) more serious note – I have been checking the spam bin more regularly to rescue you from your indiscretions. And if you have any suggestions as to how we can tell Akismet to give you carte blanch – let me know.

  5. Robert says:

    Nick, it seems there is an alternative plugin that offers a whitelist function. Perhaps that would help?

Comments are closed.