Maybe we'll have to appoint the A.R.M executive?

In one of life’s ironies, the Australian Republican Movement, of which I am a member, is having all kinds of difficulties running this year’s election for its national committee. They’ve just extended the deadline for voting, but it isn’t helping much. This morning, I received an email inviting me to vote. When I tried to vote, I was told I wasn’t eligible.

For the first time, I wish there were more direct electionists in the Australian Republican movement.

This entry was posted in Australian Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Maybe we'll have to appoint the A.R.M executive?

  1. Sinclair Davidson says:

    Ahem. Far be it for me to suggest that if there were more direct electionists in the ARM that Australia might be a Republic already.

  2. Christine says:

    Too funny, though not so good for credibility of the republican movement.

    If the direct electionists had been willing to get off their high horses and go with the rest of the country, Australia might be a republic already. ;)

  3. gordon says:

    Hardly surprising. What is the use of Republicanism anyway? Will it make me happier, or healthier, or richer, or sexier, or cleverer, or any other good thing?

  4. Sir Humphrey says:

    I don’t see the irony, Andrew. The ARM thinks that direct election won’t work, and has set out to prove it!

Comments are closed.