Did you know they've taken the word 'gullible' out of the dictionary?

I’m embarassed to say that this morning, I nearly fell for a scam-email purporting to be from the Australian Taxation Office, and offering a tax return of “270$”. I console myself with the thought that this is basically what I’ve been proposing the ATO ought to do.

This entry was posted in Tax. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Did you know they've taken the word 'gullible' out of the dictionary?

  1. Sinclair Davidson says:

    Well, you should be ashamed of yourself. Taking money back from the government indeed. What next? You’ll be suggesting that the government spend less and give you even more. No Andrew. That is the thin of the wedge – once people realise that government needs all the money it can get and stop complaining the world will be a much better place. It is just pure selfishness that leads to this notion that people ought get money back from the government. Just where is your community spirit? Call yourself a social democrat? Ha.

  2. Patrick says:

    Although responding to such emails is consistent with a social democrat’s grasp on reality – hahah!

  3. Bruce Bradbury says:

    Well, I received an SMS from the ATO last week warning me that I had not yet submitted my tax return. I assumed this was genuine, and so started work on it – but maybe this was another trick :-)

Comments are closed.