Portrait of the Economist as a Young Man

In the Australian today, Bernard Lane profiles my coauthor, Joshua Gans — recent winner of the Economic Society of Australia’s inaugural young economist award. My favourite bit:

Any time for hobbies?

“I pride myself on spending more than the typical amount of time with my children,” Gans says.

“I think sometimes people don’t believe that but I go home at 5pm every day. It’s not a hobby but it’s part of my life.”

This entry was posted in Economics of the Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Portrait of the Economist as a Young Man

  1. Patrick says:

    Bravo to him. I aspire to that but it is harder than it sounds. Still, with kids I think it is very very important.

  2. Brendan says:

    jeff borland is coooler, he gives out chocolates in lectures for answering questions right ;D

  3. AJ says:

    I read recently that lecturers that hand out chocolate do better in end of semester evaluations too..

Comments are closed.