Books I can recommend

From Sebastian’s shelf:

  • Penguin, by Polly Dunbar (purchased with Nicholas Gruen’s 50% off voucher, valid until 22 Nov)
  • Moo, Baa, La La La, Sandra Boynton
  • Alphabet, Alison Jay
  • That’s Not my Lion, Watt & Wells
  • But not the Hippopotamus, Sandra Boynton

Not from Sebastian’s shelf:

  • Supercrunchers, Ian Ayres
  • Stumbling on Happiness, Daniel Gilbert
  • The White Man’s Burden, William Easterly
  • Better: A Surgeon’s Notes on Performance, Atul Gawande
This entry was posted in What I'm Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Books I can recommend

  1. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for that. I always love Atul Gawande’s writing in the New Yorker, so I’ll look out for his book (or add it to my Amazon wishlist for when I’m ready for another splurge).

    Can’t remember how old Sebastian is, but I highly recommend anything by Julia Donaldson (Room on the Broom, the Gruffalo). I got given them when my older son was two, and they’ve lasted the distance very well, as they have layers of sophistication.

  2. Andrew Leigh says:

    It’s Gawande’s second book – the first (“Complications: A Surgeon’s Notes on an Imperfect Science”) is splendid too. But some of it does come out of his New Yorker articles, so it’s not all fresh.

    Thanks for the Donaldson suggestions. Sebastian’s 9 months on Tuesday.

  3. Two ‘sequels’ from Gawande and Easterly, and I suspect not as good as the originals. I heard a Gawande lecture that I think coincided with the launch of the second book, and it seemed a bit repetitive after having read ‘Complications’. But will be interested to hear from Andrew on that.

    (And from Sebastian on Moo, Baa, La La La)

  4. Verdurous says:

    “Moo, bah, la la la” is certainly a gem and a future classic.

    May I also recommend “Don’t let the pigeon drive the bus!” – very funny. Another must – in a year or so – is a book for kids and adults from none other than Theodore Gessell himself (Dr Seuss). Why, it’s “the Lorax” of course. (Hard to believe any Dr Seuss book was banned in some jurisdictions, but there you go).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Lorax

  5. aidan says:

    Bit late .. but … I can highly recommend Fletcher and the Falling Leaves. I just picked it up in a bookstore in Chicago and it is magical! This would be one you would put away for a couple of years for young Sebastian.

    Having done a fair bit of reading to young `uns over the last few years I have been amazed by the amount of dross out there. Even books that *look* nice but are really poorly written for the intended audience. Often too wordy and intended to appeal to the adult reader than the small listener. In some cases this is justified if it leads to a more involved reader, or in the case of the wonderful Lynley Dodd, really lovely sounds and rhythm.

    Oh yes, so anything by Lynley Dodd or Pamela Allen (Waddle Giggle Gargle, Belinda, Mr McGee and the Biting Flea are particularly well received).

    Trips to the library are a really nice way to spice up the book reading experience we find (once Sebastian is a little older). Plus you get to read all those dud ones and not waste your dollar.

    I love Dr Seuss but they are VERY long for the 3 and under crowd. I think the Star-Bellied sneetches book is a good one as it has four shorter stories (the aforementioned, The Zax, Too many Daves (bit silly) and A Pair of Green Trousers (weird at first, but I really got into once I got used to the metre)). For the same reason Yertle the Turtle is good for younger punters.

Comments are closed.