Prediction markets, where art thou?

I’ve been writing for nearly a decade (much of it with Justin Wolfers) about the predictive power of election betting markets. So why is it that now I’m running for ALP preselection in Fraser, none of the election betting websites can tell me my odds?

This entry was posted in Australian Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Prediction markets, where art thou?

  1. Rationalist says:

    I am not a traditional Labor apperachik but I think you would be a superb addition to the parliament.

  2. Dave says:

    I checked your pre-selection website. I notice you haven’t posted any opinions on environmental issues. Do you have any views on these? Also what rate of inheritance tax do you propose? I would be in favor of charging the unpaid capital gains tax on an estate before it passing on to the inheritors. But I’m not in favor of estate taxes on previously taxed income that has been saved.

  3. EconoMan says:

    Do you believe there’d be a sufficiently thick market Andrew?

    I’m also interested in your thoughts on Dave’s questions.

  4. Adrian says:

    I am an active member of the Party. And I want to wish you well for the upcoming preselection! You have my support.

  5. Guy says:

    Good luck in Fraser Andrew. You’d be a fantastic member of parliament.

  6. Patrick says:

    I am hardly an active member of the Labor Party but you would have my support since at least you aren’t a unionist or completely nuts…high praise I know :)

Comments are closed.