Right-wingers for gay marriage

Andrew Norton has a terrific post on the tension between liberals and conservatives over the issue of gay marriage. Following up on a piece in the Oz by Tim Wilson, Andrew carefully unpicks the critique by gay marriage opponent John Heard.

From an economic standpoint, I can think of no good reason to ban gay marriage. If the institution of marriage can withstand Britney Spears, it’s not going to be brought down if we allow my good friends Adam and Stephen to tie the knot after living together for 14 years.

(HT: Sinclair Davidson)

This entry was posted in Australian Politics, Economics of the Family. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Right-wingers for gay marriage

  1. Sinclair Davidson says:

    If the institution of marriage can withstand Britney Spears

    LOL. I think this all depends on being married to Britney Spears. 🙂

  2. Patrick says:

    I’m broadly sympathetic to your point, but disgusted with the argument.

    If the planet has taken everything we have thrown at it thus far, what difference can a bit more make?

    If x survived potentially deleterious event y, what harm could potentially deleterious event w do?

  3. Andrew Leigh says:

    Rhetorical flourish, meet Patrick’s cold logic.

    Patrick, I should be clear: my own view is that hetro marriage will suffer no harm at all from allowing gay marriage.

  4. Patrick says:

    Sorry for being overly serious. A part of me is not at all in favour of the idea of same-sex marriage.

    But another thinks it would be a ‘lesser evil’ much like no-fault divorce was. And as unsympathetic as I am to the ideological premises of that, I accept that its positive social impact is probably greater than any negative effects.

  5. TB says:

    Personally, my biggest objection to allowing same-sex marriage is that it will likely increase the chances of children being raised in such households. Now, I don’t dispute for a minute that gay guys can be fantastic fathers, but the truth is that they make lousy mothers. (Vice versa for lesbians.)

Comments are closed.