Octogenarian musings

Joshua Gans points to research (see fn1) showing that theoretical economists (of which he is one) peak at age 43. I can’t help adding that experimental economists (of which I think I’m one – though the source isn’t too clear on precisely what this means) peak at age 61. This suggests that my output will improve for the next 27 years. Then, assuming the downturn is symmetric, I’ll have approximately my current output at age 88.

This entry was posted in Economics Generally. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Octogenarian musings

  1. Sinclair Davidson says:

    A man with Stata in his armchair should do a lot better than past experimental (empirical?) economists – so I expect you to never peak, but just keep going. Improvements in technology, however, won’t help Joshua or theoretical economists extend their peaks. He can look forward to a lucrative consulting/advising career.

  2. Damien Eldridge says:

    There should be large substitution possibilities between writing economic theory and writing science fiction and fantasy novels. As a result, economic theorists should actually increase the size of theire readership as they get older!!!

  3. Sinclair Davidson says:

    I don’t know, Damien. Most of (modern) economic theory is fantasy already.

  4. conrad says:

    It sounds like economics might merge quite easily with psychology — although I’m not sure what the size of the readership is for uncreative fiction.

Comments are closed.