Half full or half empty?

Having written last week about media slant, I enjoyed the juxtaposition in the headlines reporting my teacher effectiveness study this morning.

A bit more coverage from the West Australian and the SMH.

This entry was posted in Economics of Education. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Half full or half empty?

  1. Verdurous says:

    You got second billing on the 10am ABC TV news update this morning. Well done mate.

  2. Sacha says:

    Andrew, I heard you this morning a bit after 7am on ABC Sydney radio. I admire your sounding so together at such an early time of the day.

  3. ChrisPer says:

    Congrats for proving something important – that teaching quality makes a measurable difference.

    I recall an article linked from Arts & Letters Daily which dismissed several decades of teacher or class-bsed research as (overall) subjective and untrustworthy. This was especially true where it had political implications.

    I hope this is used in the re-evaluation of reward structures for teachers; but I still believe that more sophisticated measures than an extra few dollars merit pay would be needed to drive improvement.

  4. A.N. says:

    Andrew, which journal is this going to appear in? I’d like to cite it in a paper I’m currently working on.

  5. M.B says:

    Andrew

    I, too, am interested in knowing which journal your research will be appearing in. Many thanks!

  6. Andrew Leigh says:

    AN/MB, I’m also keen to find that out! Given publication lag in economics, we should all know the answer in 1-2 years’ time. In the meantime, if you’re kind enough to cite it, then calling it an ANU working paper would be fine.

  7. Paul Frijters says:

    yes, congrats on the story Andrew. I was surprised to see the paper and the news taking your research as evidence for the use of merit pay. I was even more surpised to see the unions attacking you over it. They unions should be happy with it and argue that this shows you should increase pay accross the board in order to attract better teachers. Since your paper has nothing to do with merit pay, I can only surmise slanting it that way had its own reasons….

  8. Richard Innes says:

    I found the report. Based on the comments above and the news coverage, it looks like a very valuable ‘read.’

Comments are closed.