Betting market curio

I was just looking over the election odds while preparing for a radio interview (Orange ABC) on prediction markets, and noticed something I hadn’t seen before: Howard’s odds of retaining his own seat (61%) are now worse than not far from Latham’s odds of winning the federal election at this point in the 2004 cycle (46%).

Update: Line of the morning went to punter Bob, who was on just before me. He said that his dad always told him “don’t bet on anything that doesn’t speak”.

This entry was posted in Australian Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Betting market curio

  1. Dave says:

    I think you meant that DOES speak. That’s the usual version anyway.

  2. Andrew Leigh says:

    I’m pretty sure I heard him correctly, but it’s quite possible that Bob or myself are twisting the aphorism.

  3. Seneca says:

    “Never bet on anything that talks” was the way I heard it first.

  4. EconoMan says:

    What were the respective prices Andrew?

    Isn’t Howard still favourite for Bennelong. My record of Centrebet prices for Latham doesn’t have Latham shorter than $2 even once. (at least 2 data points a month from Dec to August, every 3 or 4 days from September)

  5. Andrew Leigh says:

    EconoMan, thanks for the correction. You’re completely right, and the only saving grace is that I didn’t get time to mention this on air. I’ve corrected the post. For the record, the prices for Bennelong now are $1.48/$2.35 (61% Howard), and the prices for Latham at their peak in June 2004 were $1.70/$2.00 (46% Latham).

    [Tangentially, if you or anyone else would like the full price history for 2001 or 2004, I’m happy to pass it on. Just drop me an email.]

Comments are closed.