Gone SRFing

I found out last night that I’ve been promoted to what Australian academics call Level D (the scale starts at A, and runs to E, a Professor). In a regular teaching department, this would mean that I’d be an Associate Professor. But since I’m in ANU’s Research School of Social Sciences, my title will either be “reader” or “senior research fellow”. Which is enough of a mouthful that I’ll be telling journalists for some time yet to merely describe me as “an economist from the ANU”.

Incidentally, given this study, I guess I’m lucky I ever got beyond Level A.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gone SRFing

  1. Bryan says:

    Congratulations

  2. Damien Eldridge says:

    Congratulations Andrew!!!

  3. James Tauber says:

    That’s awesome! Congratulations!

  4. Fawad Khan Yousafzai says:

    “It doesn’t matter whether a cat is black or white, as far as it catches the mice.” (Deng Z. Peng)

  5. harry clarke says:

    Congratulations Andrew. I am sure you would (in fact) get a Chair at most Australian universities and you deserve it at any of them.

  6. Sinclair Davidson says:

    well done. congratulations. a long overdue recognition.

  7. Harry’s right – congratulations.

  8. Yusaku Horiuchi says:

    Congratulations! Of course, you deserve it.

  9. Evan Roberts says:

    On the other hand, it does explain why Andrew is at the ANU.

Comments are closed.