Still saving the forests, one leaflet at a time

Our ‘no junk mail’ sticker has again failed to stop leafleters from the ACT Greens.

This entry was posted in Australian Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Still saving the forests, one leaflet at a time

  1. spog says:

    Isn’t this because, like the no junk calls arrangements for phones, political party material is exempt (if not in actuality, at least in the mind of the distributor).

  2. John says:

    Yeah, political material is exempt. Australia Post will deliver it, and it is not deemed junk mail under the act.

    To be honest, I’m not sure that any sign on your letter box will stop the onslaught. Unless you sign is really aggressive and you live in a marginal seat. Then again, that would probably prompt a visit from the candidate…

  3. Jeremy says:

    Yes, the “no junk mail” sign will not stop any political parties, because they’re all terrified of you only getting advertising from their opponents.

  4. Alan Verhagen says:

    A mere sticker won’t stop leafleters! I was in my garden when a Greens leafleter went to put a pamphlet in my letterbox. I said, “No thanks, I’m right” and he nodded through his iPod music and put one in the mailbox anyway. You have to admire tenacity!

  5. EconoMan says:

    First three are right, political stuff is exempt.

    In the past, when I handed out political material (not Greens), I would letterbox “No Junkmail”, but I didn’t put stuff in “Australia post only” or “Registered post only” boxes (my decision, not instructions). I figured the pissed off factor would more than offset any gains.

  6. Patrick says:

    (not Greens),

    In case your moniker didn’t necessarily imply that much…

Comments are closed.